Mother’s Day 

As it’s nearly Mother’s Day I thought I’d share some memories of music that my Mum has given me over the years. Now to be fair most of my memories of music from her are Simply Red, which I passionately despise. Car journeys would have me reaching for my Walkman to drown out the likes of “Fairground” and “Monies to Tight to Mention”. Middle aged music for a middle class generation was far from the music for a jilted generation I was listening too.

But it wasn’t all bad…………

Jive Bunny – Swing the Mood

Being about four or five this is one of my first really vivid memories of music that my mum would play. Once my baby sister was in bed we would play this and like the mad hyper active child I was I would dance all over the living room, bouncing off of grey velour sofa, on to my Care Bears beanbag. Sweaty mess was an understatement when I listened to this. I can still picture the colourful artwork of the Jive Bunny to this day.

Jive Bunny
Eric Carmen – Hungry Eyes

The three of us living in a flat in Eastleigh, a typical big ’90’s JVC boom box playing the Dirty Dancing soundtrack. Of all the songs on that album, which as I’ve got older I can now appreciate how many perfectly formed pop songs there are but it is “Hungry Eyes” that I always asked to be put on. Being to young to understand the lyrics properly and just liking the musical arrangements and Eric Carmens voice. Sometimes just liking a song for its sound is better than investing to much time into what it stands for or the message. About once a month I’ll play this and instantly be taken back to a time where all I had to worry about was which teenage mutant turtle I wanted to be and that my milk was poured in my favourite Milky Way plastic cup. Saxophone solo 🎷🎷🎷🎷🎷🎷

Hungry Eyes
A$ap Rocky – Everyday (feat. Rod Stewart)

Now this may be a surprise to you but not as much as it was to me to hear my mum listening to this while cooking a Sunday roast. Whether it was Rod Stewart that made it ok for a suburban middle aged woman listen to this I don’t know. Finally,  I thought to myself, we can talk about hip hop and can introduce her to a world of possibilities. Alas no, this was a one off and as yet have failed to hear any Dr. Dre or Nas play. Still it was 4:21 that no Simply Red played.

A$ap Rocky

She’ll never see this but Happy Mother’s Day to the best Mum……..even if her music taste is slightly poor

Leave a Reply

